[swf+No+blacks+no+irish.jpg]

Although things seems to be progressing in the states with discrimination.. I said progressing .. not solved… in China it is another story.

In a country that is focused on “saving face” and “showing face”….It shouldn’t be a surprise to hear that too many black faces in one spot doesn’t look good.   Hey.. even in America if you put too many of any race together in one spot that isn’t White.. there can seem to be “a problem” and it needs to be broke up.

But is has been a long time for something that happened here the other day to happen in the states.  Let me tell you the juicy stuff….

There is a competing school in my town… (I will keep the name to myself but it sounds like … Tree Ref) Anyway… it was a very busy summer for all of us in the teaching field. However, this school is a bit larger than ours and has many children, therefore, even more busy than mine.

So, one of the teachers from an African country was working there and the owner of the school asked her if she had some friends that could help out and teach for the summer.   She said sure she could find some and she invited 3 of her African friends to come to teach at the school for the summer.   All together, they had 4 black African teachers, and 5 other teachers from other countries that were White.

After the summer and teaching their hearts out… the owner of the school announced.. that there were too many black faces at her school and that it made her school LOOK bad… so she fired all the black teachers.   Yep, fired all the black teachers because their faces were too black.   Now this next part.. makes me a little happy….

The other white teachers were outraged.  They could not believe what the owner has said and done this…. so all of them… yes .. All of them.. QUIT... yep.. they all walked out and left the school with no foreign teachers…. and to add insult to injury… 1/2 of the Chinese teachers walked out also…. LMAO.. yep.. they did a MLK protest…. I was so proud of them…. the
White and Chinese teachers stood up for the Africans that got fired and all went home or found other jobs… within a week they were all gone.

Not only did they leave… the American  teachers and the English teachers when to the Head office in Shanghai and filed a complaint, then filed a complaint with the government and posted negative feedback on the ESL boards.   You know .. we Americans will get in an uproar and start talking to someone… anyone that will listen. Evidently, so do the English.. they never want to be out done by us you know.

So.. currently the school is temporarily closed.  But after I went to McDonald’s yesterday for dinner.. I saw some new Foreigners.. who had just arrived.. (I could tell by their bright-eyed, dazed and confused look) they had been in town for only 2 days.. and told me they would be working for the school that was closed.   They asked me if I knew why there were no teachers there.. because they were a little lost without direction and other foreigners to help them adjust to the culture change.    Seeing they were from America and Australia… and white females.. I felt the need to inform them on why there were not teachers there…. they were shocked and amazed…. but then I told them.. you have nothing to worry about… “your white”… They just stared.  (I tend to do that to people sometimes). However, out of kindness and foreigner family rule… I gave them my number and told them if they needed help with anything to give me a call.. even though I was the competing school, we need to stick together as foreigners.  They agreed.

So.. yes people.. I know America is not perfect and we still have discrimination even with a beige president.   However, we in America have come a long, long way…. compared to here.    I realized something this week… Things are really not what they seem in China… and I realized that I really have traveled back into the time of my grandparents and great-grand parents.

As bad as it is here in that aspect… it is very educational to me… to know what they went thru and what they accomplished in America.  It makes me understand more of what they did winning the right to vote, and to be treated equally.

It is easy for us to forget when we are living with those freedoms our whole life.  But I see… the pain and suffer they went thru.. to change a nations way of thinking. I think to myself.. if I had to do that here.. it would be something I would believe impossible.

until next time…

