I noticed recently that I really must be a special kind of person.  I don’t say this to brag or anything I say this because even though I have had a lot of difficulties and adjustments living here in the middle kingdom.. I have managed to adjust.   Other foreigners are not so lucky.

Case in point is one of my new teachers from America.. He is having a very difficult time adjusting to China.   He has learned in his short 6 weeks here that things are very, very different from home and it isn’t setting well with him.   It might be the fact that he is more than 6ft. tall, blonde curly hair, blue eyes, and the size of a football player… but he is not feeling the stares and the pointing.

He is daring and tries the different kinds of foods and the other chinese teachers enjoy his humor and company.. but he is just not liking China.

Yes he thinks it is beautiful in its own way, and as a photographer sees the beauty…. but he just cannot get into the customs or the thought process of the Chinese people.

He is not the first that I have encountered that can’t hang with China.. and I am sure he will not be the last… but it is kind of scary how different people react to Chinese Culture.

I guess it would be safe to say.. that concerning China.. either you love it .. or you hate it…. there is not middle ground in the middle kingdom.

 

Spiders: A Day In Tolerance

 

So if you are considering moving to China or visiting China… you really need to do your research.   You need to make sure you can handle all the differences in culture and the inconvenience of everything.  Even something as simple as buying a bus ticket could become a headache here.

I have to say tolerance is the key to survival over here.  You will find that it is much easier to say than do, but if you can stick it out the experience is something you will never forget and you will become a stronger person….

until next time…..

