As a teacher in China your relationship is a bit different from a teacher in America.  Not only are you their teacher.. you are also their friend, confidant, and motivator.    I often find comfort in the fact that not only are they learning english they are learning about my culture, habits and hobbies.   They truly become some of your best friends.

My most advanced student wanted to take me to dinner two weeks ago after school.  I was thrilled with the fact that I not only got to talk to him but he paid for a wonderful dinner.  (smile)… gotta love Chinese men.

Since my husband tends to work extremely long hours as of late, having some one invite me out to dinner beats sitting home alone eating some rice.  So, I agreed to go with him.  He is not of this province he is from North of China so the food he eats is quite different from the local Yuyao food that I still haven’t quite grown accustom .

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

However, the food I experienced at this restaurant was much different.  Breaded chicken (kind of tasted like chicken fried steak) with a sweet and sour sauce that included carrots and onions; Potatoes with another kind of sweet sauce on it that was mixed with green peppers and red peppers; a wonderful cucumber salad that had a slight vingar-ish, taste with clear noodles, nuts and cilantro; a slightly sweet soup that was a combination of egg drop with corn inside.  (no artificial colors or flavors) this was one of the best meals I had ever had in China.  My student keeps me laughing while telling me about his childhood and life in North of China.

We even discussed his jealous and issues with women.   Mind you he is very handsome, about 6ft tall, and has a slight European accent.  If I was still a single girl.. he would definitely be on my radar.   That might be while my husband doesn’t care for him very much.  (smile)

Overall it was a wonderful dinner.  He then asked me to go with him out to the bar and have a drink and go dancing.  Although, the thought of going out with this tall handsome man to a bar and laughing and ..yeah I will say it flirting a little… sounded good.    I wanted to make sure my husband would be okay with it.

However, just like always… when I was just going to call my husband to ask him if it would be okay with him… he called me….(never fails.. just when I might get myself into some trouble.. he calls).   I informed him that I was at dinner with my student and that he has asked me to go to the bar.   My hubby told me that he had just got home from work and was feeling tired and only wanted to stay home with me for the night.   Therefore, I declined the offer to go out partying with the handsome guy and choose to have him take me home so I could be with my baby.

I am thinking that was my biggest temptation since I have been married.  Makes me kind of glad that my husband has some kind of radar to keep him in my mind.

However, I did box up the leftovers and bring them to him … even though in China it is considered impolite and poor form to take the uneaten food with you home when you are at a restaurant… I throw those rules to the wind.. and made that little waitress bring me something to carry it in.

Obviously, they don’t understand that this food was good…. and i was not going to let them throw it away.

My husband was happy that I thought of him and that I choose to stay home with him… I had a great end to the evening laying in bed with Michael… eating leftover Chinese…. PRICELESS!

 

until next time…

