Some of you may know that my husband isn’t the romantic kind of guy, not many Chinese men are.  He is more of a realistic guy.  I am the dreamy, love story kind of girl.. and he is the we need to pay the bills and plan for retirement kind of guy.  You get the point.   Anywho… I told my husband that the 3 most important days of the year for me that he must never forget are …. My birthday, our anniversary, and Valentines day.    Every other holiday… even Christmas he doesn’t have to worry too much about.. since we are buddhist.

As with every year, I reminded him a week in advance that Valentine’s day was coming.  I even had all my friends remind him constantly throughout the week via text messages.   Michael is good at remembering the dates… his problem is that he doesn’t do anything when the date arrives.

So… V-Day was yesterday… and He woke up like normal… and when to work kissing me good-bye like normal.    I go to work… all day.. Nothing… my co-workers and students are getting flowers, candy, stuffed bears….. I still received nothing.    One student felt sorry for me and said… “Don’t worry he will have a surprise for you when you get home” … I wasn’t feeling very confident since I arrive home at 8:30 pm.

When I got home… I eagerly looked around the apartment… Michael greeted me with a kiss (as usual) and I saw no gifts… nothing.   I was upset…..and I said.. you didn’t get me one thing?  not even a piece of chocolate?   He said… frustrated… I was busy at work, I have a lot of stress… what do you want?  …. I said.. “it doesn’t work that way… you don’t ask me what I want… you just get me something, anything….”

He said sorry…. but my parents called and I have to go to the village tonight to help take care of my grandmother, I will see you tomorrow.    WHAT? It’s Valentines Day…. I was livid.   I just went in the bedroom shut the door and watched Korean Dramas online.the whole night.. at least they were romantic.

The next morning… I awoke to the cell phone ringing…. I look and it was Michael… I was still pissed so I didn’t answer.  He called and messaged me 10 times more but I still didn’t answer.

I finally got up out of bed and went to the kitchen to get something to drink… and in front of the front door in the middle of the floor where these……

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

yep… I was surprised.   I called him and told him thank you for the flowers.  He said in his mind, I should know how much he loves me and that he shouldnt have to prove it with gifts or flowers.”  I said… I know .. but once in a while a woman wants to see it.. and see you put some effort into showing her that she means a lot to you.    He said… I understand.. this relationship stuff is hard.… I laughed and said.. yep it is.. but you’re getting there.

 

until next time…

