This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

As some of you may remember, I have been battling high blood pressure for the past year.  I have tried natural remedies, traditional meds and changing my eating habits… however, last Thursday I found out that I had lost that battle … and needed to go with the western meds.

Every year in China a foreigner that has a Z visa (or permanent resident visa) needs to renew it by going through a lot of paper work and a physical.   My visa expiration is April 1st.  Yep, the fool’s day…. anyway.. I traveled to Yiwu city about 3 hours by car, and 5 hours by bus to do my physical.

My trip started at 5am, I was tired and grumpy and not at my best… when I got to the clinic.  I passed all the required tests…. blood, urine, heart, eyes, weight, height, ultra sound, mammogram, and EKG.   However, when it came to my blood pressure I clocked in at 235 over 119.  They had trouble taking the test since the monitor sleeve was too small for my arm… they took the test 5 times.. and every time it was higher and higher.  Finally, they told me that I didn’t pass.   I was freaked out… if I don’t pass this examination I don’t get  my visa renewed… then I must leave China… and my husband… not good.

I quickly took a bus back to my town… and was exhausted… my boss was frantic…. we raced to the hospital to find a way to lower my pressure.  The doctors also didn’t have a monitor to fit my arm properly…(everything is kids size) … and they were not sure what to do.  After, talking to a doctor friend of mine in America.  I was told what meds and dosage that I should take.  When I gave this information to the Chinese doctor he told me that they didn’t have that medicine in China.

After a lot of Chinglish, and a chinese dictionary…I got my feelings across to this doctor and he gave me a cocktail of meds to take.  He assured me that my pressure would be back down in two days for sure.

Yesterday, 3 days later, I took the train back to Yiwu… 4 hours… I took some photos of the view.. and a few photos of the little boy who kept me company on the trip there.   I also took some photos of the hotel I stayed in.   I arrived the day before and got up bright and early this morning to go back to the clinic.  Of course they remembered me…. and to my surprise .. had purchased a normal sized monitor to check my blood pressure.   I first tried their electronic monitor… and it clocked me high again… they tested it again on this machine and It was lower but still too high… When they used  the new machine that fit my arm my blood pressure was clocked at 145 over 91 …. I was back in the normal range..Yayyyy me.

The whole office cheered… in the clinic… hehehe… I guess they were tired of seeing me.  They gave me my seal of health approval and I was on my way.

I quickly called my husband and told him I passed… he was  very relieved.. then I called my boss… who told me congratulations… I am not sure if that was the response I was expecting but I said.. thank you …

I think this whole episode has scared my husband a little.  He is worried that if I get sick in China.. they wont be able to help me.   So, he thinks we should move to America… where I can have my own doctors.   So, begins the year-long process of our move back to America… proves to be some interesting stuff.. in the blog .. for the following year… stay tuned

until next time…

 

