Oh Boy….summer is here…. It is not only the sunshine, hot weather, colored umbrellas and crazy ice cream flavors that tell me; but the extreme shortness of the skirts that all the Chinese women are wearing.   I am no prude mind you … In my other life… I use to dress quite trashy… with revealing tops, short tight skirts and thigh high boots.  However, this is way different.   In a country where traditional thinking and ideals rule; you would be quite surprised to see what the women walking around in the daytime outside are wearing.

Mini, micro-minis and just plain pieces of material wrapped around their waists, always worn with at least 3 inch heels or higher.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I am not surprised when I come into work and one of the teachers is wearing one of these terribly short skirts to school to teach.   I am told it is to keep them cool because it is so hot outside, however they wear a sweater so they do not catch a cold.  But I quickly warn them that if you keep showing all your business you will catch more than a cold.

The strangest part is they usually keep the rest of their body covered up.  They would never dare to show some cleavage, bare back or a shoulder.   That is considered much too sexy for outside the house, however when they bend over you can see their “kitty cat.”  unbelievable!

I wore a v-neck blouse to school one day.. and I must admit the girls were looking pretty perky... a good boob day I would say.   I got heat from every teacher and student about how sexy I had dressed to come to school…. you could imagine my shock.  V-neck shirt and jeans is not your usual definition of overly sexy.  You also know .. I just ignored them and went about my business...(that is how I do.. over here)

The men of course are very happy to see the summer months arrive… you can see them gawking at girls and smiling everywhere they go… makes for a very happy city.  (smile)

This fashion crazy.. has no age limits…. young children, middle-aged and even the older set… they all break out the minis when the sun appears.  However, as with traditional, conservative thinking… they do not want you to look at them… if you mention their skirt length or that they look very sexy…. they will giggle girlishly and even blush with the attention. Sometimes, they will even get angry with you and walk away in a huff, like you told them to wear that short-arse skirt.  They want to portray that school girl innocence but dress like a professional working girl.  I don’t really get it.

I am still and always will be shocked and amazed at these skirts.   However, the same does not apply to the foreigners.   If a foreign woman wears a super short skirt, or sexy top… we are started at and frowned upon.  We are considered bad girls… and get a tsk-ing sound when we walk in the street.  We can even be told to cover up or go home and change.

Double standards?  Stereotypes?  … I say… Jealousy!!! ... What do you think?

until next time……

