Well, I am back from my one week vacation to Shenzhen and Guangzhou in Guangdong Province.  I have so much to write about I am going to have to break it up in to several blogs.  There was just too much happening to put it into one.

40116-Guangzhou
40116-Guangzhou (Photo credit: xiquinhosilva)

So, I decided to start with the big stuff and then go down.   If you’re not familiar with these two cities I will tell you this; Guangzhou is the largest city in China and Shenzhen comes in a close second.  Compared to where I live .. it would be like….. Guangzhou is New York City and .. my city is Chinatown.    Yeah… huge difference.

I have to say that although the city is so large that I would be lost immediately if I had been traveling there alone; it is very beautiful.   It reminded me of my Florida home so much with the palm trees and warm weather.  No wonder so many people want to live here.

Due to the fact that are millions of people from all over the world here; it is catered to the foreigner.  So, of course you know I was in heaven…. there were clothes that fit me, and food that was normal…. and some food that was abnormal… I will share that in another blog.   I felt the people were friendlier and … the staring and point was much, much less than in my city.

It made me wonder to myself, how did I live in this small city for so long without going crazy.  I realized now why people are so surprised to see me live in such a small place.

Shenzhen River
Shenzhen River (Photo credit: yuan2003)

I think it is like a person who is poor … they do not realize they are poor until they meet other people who are rich and they start to compare their life to them.    I am feeling this way right now…. I did not realize how small and how small thinking the people are in this town I live in until I went to a city like Guangzhou or Shenzhen.

Don’t get me wrong.. I am so happy to have started my Chinese life in this small town … I have learned so much about Chinese thinking and traditions.   I know so much more than other foreigners regarding the inner workings of Chinese culture.   I have met people who will be my friends for a life time and people I will always remember.   But I can really see now … what I have been missing by living in this small city.

I think after getting out of this 4 year bubble…. I am ready to hit the big city for a while and my hubby is agreeing with me… after he has been traveling around China.

Sooooo… we are thinking a big relocation is coming… soon.  We need this to warm up his parents for the major move to the states… baby steps.

I am going to put out quite a few blogs in the next few days talking about my trip because I got a new tattoo in China…. and the crazy foods in Guangdong Province… and the People… bound to be a page turner…. trust me.

I am a bit tired now from the return home but don’t worry I will be writing a lot more soon.

until next time….

 

 

