English: Full view of Kowloon and Hong Kong
English: Full view of Kowloon and Hong Kong (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I few of you have probably been wondering about my plans for the future…. that is also something my husband and I have been thinking about…. actually.

But to answer a few questions that are on everyone’s mind….

When am I moving back to America?  I think this is the number one questions everyone has been thinking about.  I know I have mentioned it several times… but every time my husband and I try to start the process something happens to keep us here.   One instance with his parents… they threw a fit and a half when we mentioned moving back to the states.  See in China, the children are legally supposed to take care of their parents when they are elderly; my husband is an only child and a son.   I don’t know if you guys really realize the responsibility and pressure this holds over the one boy child.  It is a tremendous pressure… and we have been jumping thru all kinds of hoops to keep these people happy.   It is not easy.  If it was up to me… those crazy arses would be on their own… but .. my husband tells me… although he also hates them at times.. he has to take care of them.  One thing I love and hate about him his devotion to family.  We we mentioned moving to the states… they refuse to give us necessary information we needed to complete the application process and even cried and rain away…. childish.    I know… you would think they would want more for their son.. but .. nope.. they want him where they can see him any time they want and call him at all hours of the day and night to come to them.   pitiful.

Another reason we haven’t just ignored them and moved anyway is because of the job situation.  My husband getting this decent position in Hong Kong as a Sales manager for international trade… and me getting the position as a professor at a College…. those opportunities don’t come around often… and I really don’t want to give it up to come back to America to do….. ummm…. welll….. nothing.   I have lived in China for five years… and not matter how easy you think it would be for me to just merge back into the job market it isn’t.

I do not have a master’s degree nor a teaching degree… I have a business degree… in America no one would have ever offered me a position so prestigious based on my writing skills and my experiences, even if I am qualified to do it.  Plus the job includes a housing allowance, company phone, and other perks.   I also have the opportunity to help other students on the side for extra money if I want… plus my wedding singing side job pays good.

A lot of people have respect for me here … with the interviews, the tv appearances and the connections i have made…. I am thinking things are not going to be better for me … or my husband if we move back right now.

I honestly think about what will my husband do.  He is in trade… we don’t do a lot of that in the states…. he speaks English but…. his writing is not at the level of an American… he would have to start over … as would I … and people in the states are not kind or fair…. all the time.. and we know it.    So… although i love my kids and miss them….. i miss my family and my friends…… they understand my situation and the reason for my choices… and for my readers… i also wanted you guys to understand the hesitations.

Besides…. i have too much fun … exploring places and things I am not supposed to know about…hehehe…. it makes my blog way too interesting.

Oh.. one last thing… yes .. my husband and I will have a long distance relationship for a little bit but.. it will make our lives better financially and marriage stronger in the end.  We speak to each other twice a day and chat throughout the day on WeChat and send photos to each other when we see stupid stuff or need advice.   We love each other and we will make it work.   I will keep you updated on everything.

So…. to answer the question when are we moving back to the states?  I don’t know…. I always refer back to my grandmother and she said….. “Honey, if it ain’t broke….. don’t fix it, child”

until next time…..

