Every now and then I meet amazing people doing amazing things… and one of my readers; now friend and mentor… is author, Nulli Para Ora.   She is inspiring and just awesome.   She is the author of the several blogs but her most recently endeavor is an exciting book about … yep… A Chinese man and Black American woman romance story with a twist. She is breaking down walls in her own way.  I asked her to stop my by blog and fill you guys in on her new novel.   You will love her as much as I do… I can help but feel a little flattered that she asked about my relationship to make her book more realistic.  Enjoy!

Dragon Moon Updated Cover

Xin nian kuai le! (Happy New Year)

Greetings! I’m Nulli Para Ora, romance author, and fan of Life Behind the Wall.  When Jo found out about my debut novel, Dragon Moon through a mutual friend, she graciously invited me to stop by.

First things first. Let’s start with a synopsis of Dragon Moon Book One.

David Johnson and Angelique Meadows are colleagues on a business trip to China. They’ve worked together for years, but neither has been able to admit their true feelings for the other.

The man they’re meeting with is Yuen Gao, CEO of a multi-million dollar company. The world sees him as a successful businessman. His pack sees him as their Alpha. Rogues, secret experiments, and the undeniable pull of his mate force him to reveal his secret. Is his love strong enough to overcome the pain of loss?

Hearts unite and break as trusted friends become enemies behind the scenes. Love longed for is lost to be replaced by a bond deeper than words. Loyalties are tested as ghosts of the past step into the present.

Can true love survive when forbidden hearts are reconnected?

 

Logo

Why did I write this book?

I’m really new to the whole romance genre. Growing up, I read science fiction, adventure, mystery, horror, and lots and lots of textbooks. I’d never even heard of Harlequin novels until about two years ago, and I still haven’t read one! When I decided to write Dragon Moon, I wrote the story I’d want to read as a newbie romance reader. But I wanted to do things a little differently.

Why a Chinese hero?

When I thought about the portrayal of Chinese men in American culture, it was always the same archetype. The mystical, martial arts warrior, usually stoic, saves the day, but never gets the girl. This character is not usually shown as an everyday human being, and he’s almost never thought of as attractive. I cried foul on those notions, and set out to write a tale with a supernatural twist, involving people with real feelings, needs, and desires. I wanted to move beyond the stereotypes, and paint a picture we don’t get to see a lot of. And yes, the inspiration for my hero is freaking GORGEOUS!

 

Chinese Medalions on Bottle

Why China?

The setting of China was important for many reasons. I wanted to bring my characters from America into another reality, with different societal norms and standards. I also wanted them to adjust to the “foreign-ness” of supernatural beings while they deal with the changes in their lives. China has long been thought of in a mystical way by America. It’s exotic, tempting, and forbidden in some aspects. I felt this country added a lot to the story from those ideas alone, but the richness of the culture lends itself to the telling of my tale.

Why werewolves?

Some of my favorite stories online involved werewolves. In particular, a writer named White Sabertooth, got me hooked on Weres. I devoured her stories, and wanted more and more. She managed to spark something in me I didn’t know was there. After reading her entries, I realized I could make my own rules in my own story world. There’s something about being able to tap into a more primal part of yourself. The idea of sharing a bond with someone deeper than all thought or reason appealed to me. I wanted to explore that.

Why Angelique?

Just as I wanted to avoid stereotypes with my Hero (both of them), I wanted to avoid them with my heroine. Angelique is a powerful, successful businesswoman. She works hard, gets results, and is trusted to get the job done. She’s also passionate and vulnerable. She’s a black woman in the upper echelons of corporate America, but what I want most of all is for the reader to feel a seamless transition into her skin. That’s important. We’re all people, all looking for happiness and fulfillment no matter what packages we arrive in (or end up in some cases). Traveling and living abroad is something more and more women of color are doing. It felt completely natural to have her in this unique situation.

Paper Lanterns

What can I expect in Dragon Moon?

I like to lose myself in a story, so I tried to create that experience in Dragon Moon. I’d like readers to be on the edge of their seat as they try to anticipate what happens next. I want them to feel the urgency, pain, and joy of the characters, while finding a bit of themselves on the pages. Buckle your seat belts. There are lots of twists and turns!

Writing Dragon Moon opened my eyes to a world of possibilities. I write across all genres of romance with the goal of showing the diversity of love, not only in our world, but in the new worlds I create. My next release, Initiate will be available on February 25th. This medieval fantasy is set in a land I created, and just like Dragon Moon, the characters are diverse in many ways. You can take a peek at the cover and trailer for Initiate here: http://nulliparaora.com/?p=570

Dragon Moon Book One Trailer

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PYZALUJ5Egs

Dragon Moon is available now.

All Romance eBooks: https://www.allromanceebooks.com/product-dragonmoon-1026104-140.htm

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Dragon-Moon-Book-ebook/dp/B00APRWY9I/ref=sr_1_5?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1355836308&sr=1-5&keywords=dragon+moon

Barnes & Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/dragon-moon-nulli-para-ora/1114056120?ean=9781931761109&r=1%2c+1&cm_mmc=AFFILIATES-_-Linkshare-_-GwEz7vxblVU-_-10%3a1&

Liquid Silver Books: http://www.lsbooks.com/dragon-moon-p706.php

You can also keep up with reviews and discussions on Goodreads. http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/17155018-dragon-moon

Want to know more about Yuen Gao? Check out this interview! http://nulliparaora.com/?p=413

I’m always looking for new and unique ideas for stories, and I love to feature various cultures. I welcome your comments and even suggestions for new parts of the world to explore. Stop by my blog at www.nulliparaora.com, browse, comment, or leave a message.

Happy reading!

