Hey everybody…. wanted to thank those of you that have voted for me for the Lotus Blossom award… the results will be in on Feb. 25th.. hopefully..I pulled through on top.

Now… the holiday is over and tomorrow I will be starting my first day at my new job in a new city.  It feels kind of strange since I have been in China for five years.. but I feel like it is my first year again…. and I think that is a good thing.

I have met a couple of people in my building… although Chinese folks aren’t very neighborly I force them to say hello to me when they walk by and even find a reason to talk to them by asking them where things are.   I did meet a foreigner from Israel.. nice guy but … a little too party oriented for me.  He has been in China for 4 years… in this area… and told me that he works one year and parties the next … not sure if I believe him and really don’t care that much.. but he had a dinner of noodles with me one night and I couldn’t help but notice that when they asked me where I was from I said “America” and when they asked him .. he said he was also American…. I gave him the side- eye.. but didn’t say anything.   As always you get better treatment when you are from America so most people try to pull it off if they can.

Leifeng Pagoda as seen from West Lake in Hangz...
Leifeng Pagoda as seen from West Lake in Hangzhou, China. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I also met a nice Chinese guy that was 29 years old. I think he kind of has the sweets for me since, I asked him where I could buy a headset for my laptop and he took me there… and after I choose a headset and small speakers and he paid for them even after my denials.    I also told him I needed water for my machine, a broom and a mop, one day.. and asked him where I should go.. and he told me he would get it for me.   20 minutes later he was calling me from downstairs telling me he had my stuff… ( told him.. I didn’t mean for him to get it.. I just needed to know where to go) but he said that is what friends are for and refused to take money for it.   Nice man but I will have to nip that in the bud at some point… since I haven’t told him that I am married  (but let me get all the things I need first.. hehehehe)

My husband is still in Yuyao, working for the company that sends him to Hong Kong every three months.  I am not sure how this long distance thing is going to work but I have a feeling it will be difficult. He claims he will visit me every weekend but we all have good intentions.  I will have to wait and see.

Now my classes;… I will be working at Zhejiang Strong International training College in Bin Jiang District, Hangzhou City.    I am a little bit away from the city center but I am learning that isn’t so bad.  It is the newer district of the city but it has all the necessary conveniences…. even more than what was in Yuyao.   (to my surprise) My first week is kind of full, with about 4 to 6 classes a day and no training.   So basically the figure I have five years experience I should know what the hell I am doing.    (at least that is the feeling I got when I spoke to my new boss, who by the way is a Black American woman like me.)  Those connections payoff I tell you, it is kind of good to be well known in China.

The Hangzhou City Walls Museum, a reconstructi...
The Hangzhou City Walls Museum, a reconstruction of the Qingchun Gate which used to stand here. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Yes, I gave up my job as Director of foreign teachers at my last school to come and be a regular teacher at this school.   But for more pay and better hours and benefits, I think it is worth it.   I was told my by last school if things didn’t work out I was always welcome to come back to Yuyao.  That is always a good feeling when people appreciate you.

Well… funny that I feel a little nervous… I guess not nervous.. because I rarely get nervous anymore but a little excited .. yeah.. that is the word.   I want to do well and now I have some new challenges to make my life interesting again.  Sometimes you get burned out and need a change of pace to jump-start your life.. and I think after five years in that small town…. this was the right time to do it.  Wish me luck on my first day of school tomorrow.

until next time…

