I seem to have adjusted very well to my new environment.   I have met some street vendors, and buttered up the security guards  and even smiled at the fruit guys when I walk by.  Things are just peachy … except for the fact that my hubby lives in a different city.   However, since I havent conquered the Chinese driving test (never took it) I will have to refer to other options.   I could do it the easy way and take a taxi; but that would cost me 18rmb each way and that would add up after a while.  Option two could be that I walk to work…..hahahahahaha   (I don’t even know why that was in the choices) So that means option three it is … the bus.

Now mind you, I have only ridden on a Chinese city bus one time in all the five years I have lived here.  I was stared at and poked at so much I told myself that I would not ride a stupid city bus in China.  Oh well things change.  So, I found out what bus I should take and since the bus station is across the street from my apartment … what the heck?  Right?

Unnamed QQ Screenshot20130311201221

so far so good… put my little two rmb in the little slot thingy.  (less than 3 cents)  and got me a seat.   The bus did a few more stops but  not as bad as I thought it would be .  I figured out where my stop was and I got off the bus no problem.   I was thinking it isnt so bad.

The time past on and it came time to go home.  Everyone was racing out of the office like something was on fire .. so of course i hurried too .   I asked one Chinese girl why is everyone running?   She said to get on the bus.   I was totally confused but … when in Rome .. run like they do… so I finally get my tired arse up to the bus and the door opened I couldn’t even see the bus driver.   They pushed me and my co-worker in there but there was barely room to close the door.  She turn her head to look my way and said…. I told you!

I would have been fine with my back against the door, if the driver hadn’t decided to pick up some more people.   Yeah!  I know!!!!!

So, they squeezed in three more people in and i could barely breathe.    I was clutching my purse, laptop and my boobs.   Finally, my co worker said lets get off here and walk.   sooo…… when the bus stopped for us to get off, three Chinese women were determined not to lose their spot on the bus… so they would not let me out.   I tried to squeeze through them and …….. Wait for it…… wait for it…………………..

YES, I GOT STUCK BETWEEN TWO CHINESE GIRLS IN THE FRONT DOOR OF THE BUS……. !!!!!!     (i know my mother and grandmother are laughing their arses off in Heaven)

Every time i tried to go out they were trying to come in….my co worker was laughing and trying her best to push me from the back.  I am pretty sure that we were stuck like that for a good few minutes before the one girl figured out I needed more space.     When I saw that opening…………I just closed my eyes and ran screaming, Free at last,  Free at last …. Thanks God I am Free at last.  

(special shout out to anyone that can name that movie)

until next time…..

