First of all, for those of you who want to join the Wechat group that we have here in China for black women.. please add me to your we.chat..(yinglai69) and i will add you.

Now… I was quite ill the last week or so.. It seem although I have lived in China for ..damn.. six years… I have not been able to conquer the food.  Dont get me wrong.. Chinese food can be delicious.. my favorite is Dong Bei food,  from the north of China.  It is the best chinese food ever.  However, every now and then I catch a bad batch of food.  It is a given here in China.  There is not one foreigner that has come here that hasn’t had a bout of food poison.

I  thought I had figured out what the problem foods were…. street side BBQ, well pretty much anything that is cooked street side is iffy.  Restaurants that look dirty and don’t have bathrooms, and food that is sitting out in the open for long periods of time.   For those of you that don’t know, the sickness usually starts about an hour or so after you eat.  Severe stomach cramps, then one of two things will happen.  You running to the bathroom holding your arse.. or running to the bathroom holding your mouth… and hopefully you can get there before … well you know.  In my case, I am usually running holding my mouth.

I vomited for two days… couldn’t even keep down water.   I was taken to the hospital… (at least that is what they call those horrible places they have here in China).. the doctor proceeded to poke my stomach asking me if it hurt… and I proceeded to give him dirty looks as he caused me more pain.   I then had to walk my arse to get blood drawn and then walk to get a ultasound.  I was carrying a plastic bag with me .. you know.. just in case.  In the end, they couldn’t find anything wrong with me… and wanted to run more tests… I just told them forget it.. I will fix myself.  I love Dr. Google.. he has helped me with so many things.

I also when to the medicine shop and found some things to try…. the cure ended up being some Children’s medicine.  Leave it to China to have better meds for their kids than the adults.   By the fourth day I was drinking water, and sixth day I was back to work.  I have always had a weak stomach but I have noticed that after these bouts of food poisoning it has steadily gotten weaker.

What you may ask did I eat?  I am always told by the locals to buy fresh meat from the fresh market because it is safer.  I went to the market and bought some “fresh” chicken.  I was fooled by the fact that everyone else was buying it, so I figured it must be okay.   I went home and de-boned it and steamed it with some spices and ate it with rice.   That chicken did me in.

My husband came that following weekend and told me honey.. if you want chicken so bad… eat KFC.   Who said fast food is not good for you?

until next time….

 

