I have always known that China was the land of green tea. For years, Green Tea has been the main staple in China. It promotes healthy lifestyles and just a general feeling of calmness….. and yes… green tea is okay if you just drink it with hot water…. (no sugar)… and see the leaves in your clear glass as you try not to put the leaves in your mouth.  However, when they start putting it in everything including cakes, ice cream and cookies to toothpaste, shampoo and deodorant and even in make up……. well in my opinion .. it becomes a bit of an over kill!

I mean come on, where is the minty freshness of a toothpaste or a mouthwash…. when it is made with green tea…..? I am beginning to wonder if this green tea is some miracle drug that is made to keep foreigners away from China. I could see them building bombs and making bullets out of green tea…. hey, you never know.
The taste of green tea is like drinking a hot cup of grass….. it has a strange, bitter-ish after taste that kind of lingers in your mouth. For me I keep drinking hoping the hot water will wash away that taste…. it never does….just keeps getting stronger….. OH…. and if you are having tea with your Chinese friends; they give you these tiny, little cups that you can only get about a half a swallow then the cup is empty and then they keep adding hot water to it… one pot of green tea leaves could last you half the day…

I remember when I was in the states I use to always order Green Tea Matcha from Starbucks….I thought I was really doing something and being ….”Asian”… however… that is not real green tea…. I was fooled, hornswoggled, bamboozled ….let astray…. that was just a tasty treat made for Americans to make them feel special.
Here….. in China…. the tea is really tea… scoop up a handful of green leaves and just throw them in the pot…. and go….. My husband drinks approximately 9 or 10 glasses of green tea a day….. he constantly has a glass of hot tea with him …no matter the weather outside. He will swear by it….. I am not saying he is wrong…. but is it really necessary to put it in everything?……Come on Green Tea candy? ….. and Green Tea flavored potato chips.... is it really necessary?  I think not……
Even at the club…. they will serve you green tea… along side your alcoholic beverage of choice… WHO DOES THAT……. orders green tea at a bar?…. well Chinese people do … So… I have decided to stand up against all this Green Tea nonsense… no more… I tell you…..
So, I decided to go to this new fancy new expensive coffee shop, everyone was talking about…. it smelled like coffee… and the décor was very western and coffee inspired…… the lady brought over the menu…and I was very excited… I glanced down and the first thing I saw… was….. Green Tea with milk and Cheese?….. seriously…… there is no way to hide from it….it is just a Green Tea Nation….

Until next time……

 

